Endless desires: Falling in love

Chapter 1- “The essence…”

Letting life linger, he stretches his arms wide and deeply breathes. His senses are penetrated by familiar warmth of the odour and he bursts into a half-smile, shaking his head, slowly.

He pats his own palm and hums a tune as the chilly breeze blows past him, somewhere to touch somebody who takes its essence….

His tune, soft and gentle, manages to drown him into the endless glimpses of the days when he had a desire to take the world into his own hands and he mumbles, gently, careful enough to not break the rhythm of his humming, “Stupid, I was…” and then, taps his fingers again, closing his eyes.

He continues his tune and starts to descend into a world of his own of sacredness, where he belongs to somebody close, somebody his….

“Nilay,” a voice brings him back to the freezing cold of Nainital heights, “Do you want to suffer a viral fever so that we can stay here for the rest of the week also? Come on, in!”

He scratches the back of his hair and glancing back at his painting, smiles before replying, “I would love to stay here for the rest of my life,” he swallows and then, brings back his smile, “But I am just coming.”

He walks, whistling his favorite tunes, and places the painting on the leaner after setting his foot on the wooden floor.

He rubs his palm on the painting and keeps looking at it. A vile thought covers the midair of his mind that if he were to be a person, as in the painting, then he would have stood there forever; wishing that the world stands still….

He hears the tapping on the floor and nods, smiling, to speak, “I have packed my bags, Dad, I am ready to leave.”

His voice dulls, strangely, but he turns around, grinning, and moves aside to show his father, his painting; his creation.

His father peeks at it and then gazes at his son who stands there with a charming smile on his face but it fails to break through the harshness within his father’s tone. Turning away, his father glances back, and states, “I am telling you for the umpteenth time, Nilay, stop this nonsense and join me in business. You will gain nothing out of,” he points at his painting, disgustedly, “This crap.”

Nilay looks down for a moment, closes his eyes, and then looking back up, responds, curtly, ignoring his father’s comment, “Thanks, Dad.”

Siddhanth did not bicker further and turns on his heels, ordering, “Your travel plan is on the table. Take it, study it and follow it.”

He runs forward to follow pace with his father and frowns, questioning surprised, “My travel plan? You are also coming with me, right?”

He does not see his father’s face when he sentences his words, like a stranger, “You very well know, Nilay, I have no time to waste on this stupid adventure of yours. I will attend a meeting here and leave by jet. You can accompany me, if sanity meets you, or rather you meet it.”

Siddhanth’s taunt does not affect his expressions.

Alas!

His heart cringes at this tone but that is momentary as sharply, gazing out, he does not respond and walks back to his room.

Mr.Siddhanth Roy shakes his head and mutters, devoid of any feeling except mockery in his tone, “Nilay is useless.”

Among his own, where his music and paintings are, he feels that life exists and rubs his nose, scrunching his brows. Then, he says to his own being, “I am happy to travel in the place where I belong, where she exists…”

Then, he smiles again and rests his gaze on the neatly polished guitar that has witnessed endless conversations and such hearty smiles; that still believes him to be worthy.

Couple of hours later….

“Mr.Roy-” his agent starts with utmost respect seeing the branded attire that he was fitted into perfectly.

Nilay waves his hand, taking it out of his Wrangler pockets and warmly smiles, and speaks, intervening, “Call me Nilay,” he glances at his badge, “Khan Saab. After all, I am much younger than you and we have to share camaraderie to understand your instructions, don’t we?” he smiles again.

Khan nods and explains the pamphlet and plans to Nilay, who listens, jokes and keeps smiling.

So much difference, Khan wonders, between father and son; one is fire and the other is cool water.

Shrugging, Nilay shakes hands with his agent and departs with his backpack and roller in his hands towards his adventure, his journey and his destination.

He whistles and walks on the brisk velvet snow and soon, a team of tourists join him. He starts his conversation with a Brazilian who is awed by the beauty of the hills and is quite depressing in English.

“Kaylee is your name, beautiful lady? Did I pronounce it right?” his most ravishing smile is present on his face and eyes.

The Brazilian smiles at him and grinning, corrects him in her thick accent, “It’s not Kay-lee, dear, it’s Kaay-lee. Kaaylee.”

He looks ahead, sheepishly, and responds, “Shakespeare says, ‘What’s in the name?’. And Nilay Roy adds that what’s in the name when a lady is as beautiful as you.”

Kaaylee takes that as a compliment and pats his palm, fondly, while he busies himself in chatter with her.

A gaze follows his flirty moves. It scowls as he compliments the lady and comments, passively, “Flirt.”

Nilay never fails to hear the comment and says to Kaaylee, “Excuse me, Kaay-lee, just for a moment.”

The Brazilian nods and starts clicking the pictures again, walking forth.

He digs his hands into his pockets and walks backwards, to the source of the thin and chiming voice.

Without looking at the lady’s face, he smiles and asks, “Flirt?”

“Yes, flirt,” is the worded reply and taken aback, he turns around.

The young woman stares at his face, sharply, but then turns her gaze. He looks at her shady hair that flows back to touch her petite waist with the air. His eyes rest on her face that has a touch of crimson, a natural crimson, in it.

“Excuse me, are you checking me out?” she snaps him back to reality and walks faster than before.

The guide’s voice begins to drift again.

He smirks and walking in pace, with her, answers, “I was not checking you out, beautiful,” she glares, “Do you know how would I check you out?”

She stops, then glares and starts walking again. He looks at her, straight at her, and says, “This would be how I’ll check you out.”

“Listen, Mr. Flirt,” she points her finger at him, turning around as her long hair locks, with the familiar warmth that he felt in the morning, brushing against his slight stubble and his eyes closed for a fleeting moment.

His calm sense gives her chills and she fails to retort further. She keeps looking at his face and then, as he smirks, she still resides in her world of her own.

He gets hold of her finger, sensational touch, both feel; then, grins and states, “Mr.Nilay Roy, beautiful. Now, are you checking me out?”

She flares her nostrils and his heart thumps a little more than usual. She continues, “Mr. Flirt, I prefer.”

“What’s this beauty called?” Now, he ignores her comment and questions.

A very slow smirk appears on her pink lips as she turns back and answers, “Shakespeare says, ‘What’s in the name?’. And Mr. Flirt adds that what’s in the name when a lady is as beautiful as me.”

She holds her head up high and he shrugs, grinning.

Then, he teases, “So, I’ll call you Crimson.”

“What?” she nearly shrieks.

He smirks, “I love the way your cheeks have-”

Presenting Syra Yousuf as Kaavya Malhotra

“Shut up!” she retorts and adds, breathing, “Kaavya Malhotra,” he grins and she irks, “Now, move aside, flirt.”

Attraction is beyond our will and idea sometimes. It has no bounds, no barriers and no logic. Beauty attracts man, familiarity attracts mankind.

17 thoughts on “Endless desires: Falling in love

  1. jasquerade

    Firstly, whenever I read you I ask is Anushree really twelve years old? Take that as a compliment. As I have stated earlier, you have that talent which instantly takes the reader into a different world created by you. Our hearts end up racing at each word and sentence! The stark contrast between Nilay and his father is beautiful. A father always prefers for his son to follow in his footsteps but here Nilay is doing exactly the opposite according to his father’s wishes. He is a rebel in a different form, does not argue with his father when he comments rudely about Nilay’s passion. He is still an obedient son but who has different desires and dreams. Kaavya’s entry was wonderfully portrayed, from the little we know of her she seems to be quite straightforward and will enter to new thoughts a new light into Nilay’s life, how these two’s relationship will turn out and will there be one? You have to post more for that! 😉

    Reply
    1. Anushree Joshi

      Jas, thank u, dear. 🙂 I really loved writing this more than what I have ever written till now. Because Nilay and Kaavya are solely my creations with no depicted characterization I have to follow. For Nilay and his father, there is more to it than meets the eye. Nilay’s rebellious profession is not his only qualm. You will know more when you read. 😉 Nilay is a sensitive yet strong at heart guy. His father’s behavior is harsh with him but still, he smiles and makes others smile with him. He can’t be a rebel in rude way; he just can’t. Kaavya, ahaan! U can say that Kaavya is my Kashish 😉 Modified in a way that will capture Nilay’s heart. These two are not completely pole apart; just a clash. Loved ur feedback! 😀
      Keep reading!

      Reply
  2. tuks

    I am already in love with Nilay. Sushant is one of my favorites and I can imagine him flirting. Lol “Mr Flirt”, amazing Anu 😀 this is going to be fun 😀

    Reply
    1. Anushree

      Tuks, temme about it. 😉 He is a charmer; his smile is so refreshing nd he is a brilliant actor. He ws flirting nd Kaavya is Kaavya. 😉 Oh, dear. This is really going on interesting fr me writing about dem. 😀
      Hope to read more of ur response. Luv ya!

      Reply
  3. tuks

    Why dont u choose an actor for his father as well?? u know I kinda always like flirts :D… bcos in a way, unlike others, they are optimistic about love like here Nilay thought ” where I belong, where she exists” Loved the concept, Anu 😀

    Reply
    1. Anushree

      Oh, Tuks. Of course i wud giv a face to his Dad as well. Bt nt ryt nw. His picture wil b posted whn i describe the rest of the family nd characters, slowly. ‘Where she exists…’ C’mon, he did nt even meet her den. Y did u think tht he wws talking about his soulmate? He ws talking about Nainital, his place, nd SHE is nt his soulmate. So, chill pill. Lol. I lyk flirts too. Dey r easy to write of. 😉 Bt Nilay has more to him.
      So, dearie, read on fr more.
      😀

      Reply
  4. Sampoo

    Anu, lets get this straight first of all. You are a spark that words are not enough to capture!! You transported me to a charming, beautiful land of your imagination from which I didn’t want to come back. Loved how you showed the contrast between the father and son. Perhaps we will be allowed to see how such contrast affects one’s personality. Nilay is a charmer and I’m already loving him. Of course loving Kaavya 😀 Waiting for more Anu ❤

    Reply
    1. Bliss For Eternity Post author

      Sammy, thanks a lot for reading and commenting, firstly. 😀 The father and son have more than a clash to their story. 😉 Nilay is my charmer too. I loved him when I imagined him. Lol. Thank you. Read on 🙂

      Reply
  5. Silver Spoon

    First and foremost, congratulations, Anu, for starting your new blog. I wish you all the best in every endeavor of yours. Here’s hoping to read more and more 🙂 Now, coming to the text, I loved the title. There’s something intriguing in it. The first question that comes to mind is, essence of what? Life, love, relationship, individuality? So many options and so many perceptions! I love the fact that he did not break the rhythm of his tune. Not sure if I am right, but I looked at it as some sort of symbol for “consistency”. Question, why does he say “Stupid, I was?” :O Love Nilay’s liveliness and his spirit. There’s something adorable about him. I am still trying to point what it is. Maybe as we read further, we will get to know more of these traits 😉 I love the fact that there is a father figure in this story even if this figure clearly is upset over Nilay’s choice of profession. Ah, adventurous guy! How I love this trait in men. It makes them a lot more daring and gives us ample of opportunities for things to happen on roads 😉 Sadly, there is a mental gap between the two generations. I wonder how long has this been? Nilay seems to still expect his father to acknowledge his talent. He seems pretty confident about his own creativity. Interesting thing here. Dad sends son to tour but does he know where son intends to go? ROFL. I loved the “are you checking me out” thing! How embarrassing for any guy 😉 But our Nilay managed to prevent that. Smarty huh. I love Kavya. She’s bold and beautiful and way preferable over weaker heroines. I love her already! My dear Mr. Flirt, you have managed to make her blush. But your heart happens to be somewhere else? I am intrigued! Anu, waiting for the next 😀

    Reply
    1. Bliss For Eternity Post author

      I am honored to have Silver Spoon commenting at this. Thank you, Spoonie. The title was needed and I typed whatever came up first. :p But ‘essence’ was meant just for this perceptional difference, specially. Yes, he did not break the rhythm and you got it right, it was meant as a symbol of consistency. He connects to whatever he does; he is passionate about his endeavors, his tasks. He says that thing; well, because he considers his memories of that childhood dream stupid. You will know more, why. Nilay is a creation that can drown you somewhere. I guess the adorable thing is his different attitude. As Jas pointed, he is a rebel but in a different kind. The father figure is the spinal cord of this thing. Lol. There is more to them, just wait. I loved that part too. I was grinning while writing that thing. But Nilay is Nilay, you see. Kaavya was meant to be like this. Mr.Flirt is a mystery, an unsolved mystery. 😉 So, read on and I’ll keep writing.
      Thanks.
      Love ya! 😀

      Reply
  6. Are$ Shan Potter

    Anu… Anu… Anu… I declare myself impaired, but you can no longer form part of Bachcha Party o.0 A thirteen year old can simply not write like that! Need to put a detective behind you 😉
    “His tune, soft and gentle, manages to drown him into the endless glimpses of the days when he had a desire to take the world into his own hands” and “Stupid, I was…” They are whispering endless tales to me, but i am shushing them… *Shh, let’s travel farther in her charismatic world*
    You have a wondrous talent, my Lady… Something i have always connived and contrived to acquire and yet, i am perishing in its void. You have the uncommon blessed amassed gift; Your words are silky, they impel the brain to actualize the written words and yet you have no detailing. With the least of tinsels, you manage to convey the desperation in someone’s besotted mind, and yet… you are in far and few between few words (Y)
    This Nilay is not a mere flirt, he’s a charmer… Any chance of being the Ultimate Don Juan? o.0
    I find him more of the type, “Swing in my Arms, O’Lady for i shall not care who you are. Fill in my days and my nights, for nothing belongs mine.”
    Is he any heart-broken dude… trying to find solace in anyone who shall come?
    The Nainital place cherished definitely something dear to him, no doubt on that! But is that his love-lady, or i would not be surprised to find he has been whining over his mother?
    Kaavya, heh! I have a right mind to drag Jal here 😉 Her sister is names Kaavya too.
    Now, this Syra Yousaf girl… Amazing choice (Y) I can already see her flaunting, but hasn’t she been dragging the attention to her, or am i over-thinking?
    Until Next Time…
    xxx

    Reply
  7. Bliss For Eternity Post author

    Get as many detectives as you want. 😉 I will b 12 and a half until 25th of May. 😉 Yes, those lines have a tale of their own which will unfold as I write further. These lines are connected to the days when he had dreams as a child, as an innocent. Thank you for the next compliments, Are$. I am honored with every monosyllable there. 😀
    Nilay is a charmer. He definitely is. He is a different type of rebel who does not shout out his perspective before his father. Rather, he silently acknowledges his words and lets them go. Oh, dearie, you better read on to know who is he. 😉 That Naninital connection is something I guess, many are thinking over. It is not any girlfriend. I will not shed light on this further. Bulao Jal ko bulao! 😉 I searched through a dictionary of 39 long pages on net to decide the two lead names. :p Syra Yousuf was the first person who came to my mind when I wanted to write that Crimson wala part. Her skin is translucent, almost flawless. You are over-thinking. She commented passively, remember? 😮
    Thanks for the kind and LONG words, Are$.
    Love ya!
    Keep reading!

    Reply
  8. Pingback: That’s What Matters | My Blog

  9. Jal

    Anu! Hello! 😀 you called out, and i had to come, now didn’t i? 😛 Oh my gosh, lady you cannot be just 12! This is such a masterstroke, to start off with. Nainital! man, have so many memories with that place, just recently created! 😉 but, loved it. The contrasting father and son duo, is really intriguing. Kaavya, Eh? LOL. Well, atleast my sis is famous. Actually she read your OS, the other day! And she checked this out as well! 😉 she is highly glued now. 😀 but seriously, loving the Nilay, and Kaavya. “Mr. Flirt” is getting on right!. 😉 gonna check out all the other chapters now!. 😉 hehe, till then Love ya Lots!. xx
    Jal

    Reply
    1. Bliss For Eternity Post author

      Hello Jal! Welcome to the world of Nilay-Kavya and their hilarious encounters. 😀 I am indeed 12 years and 11 months old. Now, I have to forward my birth certificate to a number of people. 😉 Writing ED is really a stress-relief. ROFL. Jassy told me about your sister’s name and I had to search dictionaries to get good names for my characters. Finally, settled with Kaavya, when previously, I was about to go on with Ezhil. 😀 Waiting to read more of your reviews. 🙂
      Keep on reading!
      Love ya too. Tc.
      Cheers,
      Anushree 😀

      Reply
  10. Applecut

    Don’t know where to start, Its really YOU,who wrote the BS, where souls had burnt through their emotions, adds.. readers too along with souls. But,it totally different from previous. Nilay, a person, who keeps smile and others to be smiles, like him. He and his dad has a different perceptives, different attitude, and different DESIRES, totally out off. Mr.Khan was clearly compared them “one was Fire and other was cool water”. Am much impressed on Nilay’s character, excatly over to comment on “Thanks Dad” .(If I were him, surely i squeal with dad until he sees and nods towards my works. LOL). He didn’t act accords on dad’s statement..it shows him of respect, polite towards elders. On next, first I want to tel, that you choosen Syra aptly for CRIMSON. She was well smart.Loved their first interrogation over Flirt and Crimson. Beautifully started. Love to read other updates too, but my eyes were forcing me to shut down, will read it on later. Until, then.. Bye. Take care!

    Reply
  11. Applecut

    Hai Anu! Its really YOU, who wrote BS, where the souls were burns by unhidden emotions! “Endless Desires”, it was totally different from previous, Loved the start. Nilay, he is person, fun-filling-guy,accepts his life with smiles. Am impressed, a bit more than, his reply on “Thanks Dad”, who given nonentity on his creation.( If I were, would squeals, until dad take his words back off and nods towards my creation. LOL) Both Son and Dad, had different attitudes and perceptions. Lets see what happens between them. You aptly choosen Syra as Crimson. Liked her bold and smartness. Loved their funny interrogation. I will read on. Take care.

    Reply

Leave a comment